top of page
  • Writer's pictureCam Steele

GEAR REVIEW: Buzbe Colony 15 Box


Every so often I come across a product at the tackle shop that I've never seen before and that peaks my curiosity. Last time I was at my local tackle shop, Outhouse Tackle Co. (which, if you are in the Raleigh, NC area and have not stopped by, you seriously need to check it out!) I saw a display for the tackle storage boxes by Buzbe. I really liked the design and the concept so I picked up a few of the Colony 15 boxes. Since I fish from a kayak, the smaller size seemed like they would be just the right size.


What is it?


The Buzbe Colony 15 boxes, are modular tackle storage systems, that are customizable with multiple sizes of bins and trays. The Colony boxes come in 2 sizes. The 28 is 4 "sections" (each section is 1.6"X1.6") high and 7 across, while the 15 is 3 high and 5 across. The 28 is approximately the same size as a Plano 3700, and the 15 is comparable to the 3600.


Features:

-All of the Buzbe Colony boxes are made of industrial-strength, military grade plastic, stainless steel hinge and latch trim, clear lid is impact resistant, being made from the same material as bullet proof glass. (There is a disclaimer on the website that these things are NOT intended to stop bullets)

-There are 5 bin sizes. Each size comes with a selection that makes sense for its size, but you can also purchase them separately to make it work for you. (Of course these are all just what I use these bin sizes for, the beauty of these boxes is that you can make them your own!)

-There is a 1X1 bin perfect for weights and small hooks or jig heads.

-A 1X2 bin that fits worm hooks, shorter crankbaits, chatterbaits, etc.

-The 1X3 bin is my go-to for spooks, jerkbaits and other longer baits.

-There is a 1X4 bin that works for other longer baits or for longer soft plastics.

-Finally, a 2X2 bin that fits packaged hooks, spinnerbaits, and buzzbaits.

-These boxes stack, which wasn't something I knew I would want until I had it.

-As stated earlier, these boxes are standard sizes so they will fit into the molded spots on kayaks, or any other place that is made for standard boxes.

-Special plastic additives help make the box rust resistant.

-The bins are held in place with their HEXLOCK system. You can even turn the box upside down with one bin in place!


-Waterproof, and sun-protected.


Cons:

So far the only con I can think of is the price. These things are a little on the pricy side. No more than a Plano edge box, but more than any of the standard tackle boxes.


Final Thoughts:

The features of these boxes really speak for themselves. They are eye-catching, sturdy, and I have to admit I love these things! Head on over to www.buzbe.com or head to Outhouse Tackle and start replacing your boxes with the Buzbe Colony Boxes.

174 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page